Who Am I

Bookish Confessions #1

mariahsunglasses

These are my confessions…

Bookish Confession #1: I miss writing reviews.

I never thought I’d admit that, because for a while, blogging felt like this pressure to produce all the time. I just wanted to read a book and not think about how to I was going to frame a review, how many stars I would give, who would read my review – all before I’d even finished a book. I’ve done this for over a year, and it felt GREAT. Like breathe of fresh air.

During this time, I’ve read a lot of really good books, ones I wanted to sing praises for or just complain about. And that’s when I began to miss blogging. So I’m back for now.

Bookish Confession #2: Reading is a solitary act for me.
Despite what I just wrote above – wanting to share my thoughts on the books I read, which is true – it reinforced that reading, for me, is a solitary activity. I enjoy jumping in a book without reading the synopsis or consulting Goodreads first, and I love when I find a title nobody has read but me – and then putting people on to it afterward. I think that’s why group reads never work for me…and why I never read the assigned reading in high school. 

Bookish Confession #3: I’m a monogamous reader.
That’s right. I said it. I can only read one book at a time. When I try to juggle more than one, I never finish reading any of them, and I typically gravitate to one over the rest. When I read, I have to be singularly focused. Shoot me.

Bookish Confession #4: I’ve become a book snob – slightly.
I’ve never been one to knock people on what genres they prefer. That’s not my bag. Read what you want. Yet I noticed my reading tastes have changed slightly. For example, urban fiction or straight-up erotica just doesn’t do for me anymore. I still read it occasionally, but now I’m drawn more to historical fiction.

Bookish Confession #5: I like big books and I cannot lie. (I’m sorry – I couldn’t resist 😞)
In another turn of events, big books are garnering my attention. Normally the books I read are between 300-400 pages, but lately I’ve been craving massive books, ones with longer story arcs that I can immerse myself in. The next one I want to dive into is A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. I’m scared, though – not because of its size, but the heavy subject matter.

Bookish Confession #6: I can’t leave the bookstore empty handed.
So, like most bibliophiles, the bookstore is my happy place. It’s where I go when I have a bad day, or just want to chill out and relax for a few hours. And I seldom leave without purchasing something – even if it’s just a coffee or bookmark (I love bookmarks). When I leave sans purchase I feel odd.

Bookish Confession #7: I don’t do Booktube because I’m plus-sized.
This a personal one. I totally would have a Booktube channel if I wasn’t so insecure about my chubby face. Yes, I am aware there are plus-sized Booktubers, but I’m just not in the headspace to be on camera. Maybe I’ll get there one day (and I’m slowly working on my fitness, as well).

One thought on “Bookish Confessions #1

  1. Your confessions are speaking to me. Heh. I’m with you on most. I can’t do huge books yet though. I often buy books without reading the blurb and definitely not a review. Love to be surprised. Good or bad. Am off erotica for now too. I’ll bet you’d be an amazing Booktuber. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.